What’s the Point?

wpid-4489549-26408072-thumbnailWhat’s the point of making this blog?  Well, probably so that I can update my progress on the games that I’m making, or someplace to jot down my thoughts on recent developments in the vidya industry.

But it’s also to make sure I get things done.

You see, sometimes (just like everyone else), I lack the self-motivation to do things.  I’ve tried to make promises to myself, but I always get stuck in my head, get frustrated (see picture above), and then want to play games more than I want to make them.

However, if I post on the great interwebs that I want to do the thing and WILL do the thing, I know that there’s a possibility that someone, somewhere will see it, and maybe perhaps look forward to me doing the thing.  Then I feel more motivated to do the thing, because now I’m not just doing it for me, I’m doing it for me and the one other person who wants me to.  I also know that if I don’t  do the thing, that one person may call me out on it, and I definitely don’t want that.

I may lack self-motivation, but I certainly don’t want anyone to know.

So here I am.

Leave a comment